Home » Uncategorized » Internal struggle

Internal struggle

“Therefore be self-controlled and sober-minded for the sake of your prayers” – 1 Peter 4:7

“Above all, keep loving one another earnestly, since love covers a multitude of sins.” – 1 Peter 4:8

“This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters.” -1 John 3:16

If I love him as a brother, I must exercise self-control and be sober minded – not be swept up in emotions; laying down my own desire for human contact and understanding. I love him by keeping away, this will prevent sin.

The thing is, he will probably never know that I am doing this, he will never know the internal struggle I am going through, let alone knowing that I am doing this for his sake. But then again, Jesus died for all humanity knowing that some will never recognise the sacrifice He made for them – but He did it anyway because of love.

I must be a good steward of the gift of singleness that God has allowed me to have during this season.

And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work. – 2 Corinthians 9:8

I need grace for this good work, Lord.

– Ames

Leave a Reply

