Home » Uncategorized » Revived

Revived

Last week, I rediscovered my first love again.

I thought I was just acting in obedience to go along to the conference as a leader of my girls but quite quickly I realized God created this set of circumstances so that I could be revived in His presence. He brought me there for “me”.

Sitting under the Word and finding freedom in His Spirit, it was the “tune up” I needed after 6 months of full time of work. I fell in love with my Lord Jesus again!

That break from the regular routine has also allowed me to break some of the bad habits I’d picked up in the first half of the year i.e. all I wanted to do after work was sit in front of the tv and let that be my source of relief.

In the week I had been away, not once did I have a desire to sit in front of the tv at the end of the day nor did I feel like I was missing out on a particular show. Not because I was too tired but rather my spirit had been filled so much with “nourishment” from the Father that tv shows lost their appeal. I think that is what it means to be “satisfied in the Lord”.

Having tasted and seen the goodness of the Lord, I’ve made a decision to no longer watch reality tv or tv series. It’s not a standard I would necessarily impose on others, rather this is a personal decision I’ve been wanting to make for some time now but had not plugged into to the correct source of power (the Holy Spirit) to give me the strength to call it quits.

Instead of filling my head with images and storylines that neither build me up spiritual or revive me physically, I want to rekindle the gift of songwriting that has laid dormant for nearly 1 yr.

God reminded me of a song I started to write this time last year but it was never completed. Time to finish some unfinished business.  And to find refreshment in Him as I begin to exercise that gift again and lift up praises to the Lover of my soul.

“Taste and see that the Lord is good.”

– Ames –

Leave a Reply

