Home » Heart to Heart » selfless love

selfless love

When God’s love enters the picture, the theme of our lives can no longer be about what we want; it has to be about what God wants, and about what is best for those around us.

Selfish love comes naturally to us – we don’t have to labor to be excellent at it. But God’s love on the other hand is opposite our bent. We have to allow our lives to be remade to exhibit its glory…

Christ-built love is selfless love. It’s noble, it’s pure, it’s tender, it’s dignified, it’s grand . . . it’s heavenly. We all have our moments of selfless nobility, but Christ-built love isn’t a one-time heroic deed. Rather, it’s a lifelong lifestyle of romantic service to our spouse, selflessly considering another’s needs above our own.

You can prepare for lasting romance long before you ever meet your spouse, by asking God to cultivate selfless love within you toward the people in your life right now. It might not seem romantic, but it’s the best foundation you can ever lay for a marriage that will stand the test of time!

Preparing for a Lasting Romance, Setapartgirl

Lately, I’ve felt myself grow impatient for things.  Impatient at times for growth in numbers at our home church.  Impatient for leaders to mature in their faith.  Impatient also (as you can gather from above) for romance to blossom.  I find myself yearning for something that I know in my heart I am not ready to commit to at this point in time in my life.

There is a “person of interest” but no clear indication that he is the life-long covenant partner God has for me.

Yet I can see that I’ve already developed an unhealthy attachment for this person – what does God want in this and what is best for this person?

God’s love in my life means that I must put my impatience for intimacy (emotionally first before everything else) aside and protect his heart as well as my own.  Having broken another’s heart once and had my own shattered before, I feel like it’s an encore performance I’d rather not have to relive.  I feel convicted lately in how I’ve been treating those of the opposite sex.  If my future husband was with me on all those occasions or part of those conversations, would that be honoring to him or to the future wives of the guys I am interacting with?

Time for some reevaluation and some shifting.  It’ll be painful – of that I am sure.  But it’ll be worth it.

– Ames –

Leave a Reply

