Home » Heart to Heart » singleness is a gift

singleness is a gift

If God leads you to marriage, you may never again know a time like the one you’re in right now. A season of singleness is not merely the minor leagues of marriage. It has the potential to be a unique period of undivided devotion to Christ and undistracted ministry to others.

Single, Satisfied and Sent:  Mission for the Not-Yet-Married

I love how God has changed my perspective on marriage over the last few years.  He reminds me to find my satisfaction in Him alone.  He reminds me that singleness is actually His gift to me that can be used today for the advancement of His kingdom.

Today I was asked to make a commitment to assist in a worthwhile project.  It made me reevaluate what I already had on my plate to do and honestly, there’s not really much room for anything extra right now.  So I guess I wonder whether my ability to say ‘yes’ to the spontaneous (point 2 for the above mentioned article) is as strong even as a single person.

Hmmm. Point to ponder.

The article is worth a read so do click through.

Not much else to say except that I really need to start sleeping earlier.  Apparently, lack of sleep can contribute to weight gain – according to talkback radio this morning. lol, ok randomness means time to sleep!  Sorry to end on a moot point.  I guess this is just to get back into the habit of writing for leisure again.

– Ames – 

2 thoughts on “singleness is a gift

  1. I still read your blog btw! (it pops up in my google reader)

    Anyway, this came at a super divinely timed moment. Thank you! (and we need to catch up!)

    • Oh yay! Glad to be an encouragement :) and good to know at least one other person still reads haha yeah, perhaps we should skype one of these days :)

Leave a Reply

