Home » Uncategorized » the why behind blogging

the why behind blogging

I seem to be getting into a habit of blogging once a day over here… not sure if it’s a good thing or not.  I guess it feel like writing here requires a lot less effort and time than the food/photography blog.  Blogging used to be just for my own record but once you develop a ‘following’ per say, I guess there’s that feeling of putting out quality content and not just something that’s put together on a whim.  Hmmm, I guess the time away from the food blog has also made me reevaluate why I do it… there are so many out there who take the whole food blogging thing so seriously and do a good job at it… Does my voice even matter?  Is it really the best use of my time?

I guess it goes to the core of why we do anything.

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

– 1 Corinthians 10:13

I guess the question is, ‘At the core of it, has this blog become more about gaining followers, popularity, about giving glory to myself?’ And if it has, ‘What do I need to do to shift the focus and realign myself with the verse above?’

At first, blogging was just a way of expressing myself – sharing my thoughts with the world.  Now, I feel like it’s more than just that – maybe it’s looking too deep into it (I seem to have the tendency to do that with most things) but I feel like it’s now something that I have to be a good steward of (but isn’t that with any activity that we spend our time on?). Like it’s an opportunity to have my voice heard and I have to be responsible for what I write. I hope that with whatever I put out there I can be a positive voice, building community, being real and honest about my faith in Christ, showing off His creation and the creativity he has poured into me in the photos I take and display.

Hmm yes, just one of those self-reflections posts… you gotta have them once in a while :).

– Ames –

One thought on “the why behind blogging

  1. Pingback: do what you love | Ames: The Acoustic Version

Leave a Reply

