excellent

This morning, I was really convicted by the Word of God.

Background:  I decided to try out one of the reading plans from the Bible app, YouVersion yesterday.  My default Bible at the moment on the app is The Message because it’s one that you can download for free.  I chose one of The Overflow Devo by Propaganda which looked interesting and started there.  For some reason, I began reading Day 2’s yesterday instead of Day 1 so when I realised that this morning, I went back to see what the start of the reading plan was meant to be.  This was the passage I read:

Servants, do what you’re told by your earthly masters. And don’t just do the minimum that will get you by. Do your best. Work from the heart for your real Master, for God, confident that you’ll get paid in full when you come into your inheritance. Keep in mind always that the ultimate Master you’re serving is Christ. The sullen servant who does shoddy work will be held responsible. Being a follower of Jesus doesn’t cover up bad work.

– Colossians 3:23-25, The Message

The accompanying video:

This passage in Colossians really hit home because I know that even though I’ve said with my mouth that I want to honour God with my studies, it hasn’t translated into how I’ve approached my work in the last few weeks.  The way The Message version has worded God’s Truth here has been a wake up call.  Forgive me, Lord. No more getting by with just doing the bare minimum and producing shoddy work just in hopes of a pass.  Our God is a God of excellence and when He put His Name on us, our work should bear witness to that.

And on that note, off to do my best work.

– Ames –

Leave a Reply

