Home » Heart to Heart » if I have not love…

if I have not love…

A quote from Joyce Meyer (taken from her podcast, “Obey and Be Blessed, Part 2”):

“A lot of people have a gift that will take them somewhere but not enough character to keep them there.”

She talked about how she used to watch TV preachers and think to herself, ‘I could preach circles around them’.  Though she was/is gifted as a speaker, God could not place her in the position that she is in now until He had worked that self-pride out of her.  If He placed her as an international speaker straight away, her pride would have just inflated and she would have thought that it was all her own talent and skills.  So God needed to work in humility in order for her to fulfil her God-given destiny.

This hits close to home.  I thought I had the job in the bag.  No worries, mate!  I became prideful.  And so I was humbled.  I had to trust God with my future… again (implying that perhaps I had been trusting in my own abilities).  But God is gracious and He is patient even when we make mistakes.

I think of others who are so talented and could do so much for the Kingdom, but because they won’t learn to let go of offences, they’ll have to re-take that ‘test’ again and again and again until they realise that God’s overarching call is for us to demonstrate Christ’s love to those who don’t deserve it… because that’s how Christ first loved us.  Unforgiveness, bitterness and/or holding a grudge is just like drinking poison everyday hoping that the person who offended you is going to die.  You are the only one who gets hurt.

I am reminded of 1 Corinthians 13: 1-8a…

If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.

If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing.

If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.

It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.

Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.

It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails.

I hope for their sake that it happens sooner rather than later.  “Learn the lesson quickly”. – another Joyce Meyer quote.

– Ames –

Leave a Reply

