Home » Heart to Heart » redeeming love

redeeming love

Spent the last 3 days devouring the book, ‘Redeeming Love’ by Francine Rivers – amazing!  It’s been a long time since I’ve read a novel and after reading The Hunger Games I thought I should finally read the book I bought so long ago.  It came highly recommended from my friend Vi and I can see why it enthralled her.

The story tells the tale of a young girl who is sold into prostitution and then rescued many years later by a farmer who marries her.  Because of her messed up past, she finds it difficult to trust him or believe that he could ever choose to love someone as ‘soiled’ as herself.  So she runs away – a number of times.  Each time, he goes and finds who and brings her back to the home that he had made for her.  Slowly, she realises that no matter what has happened in the past, he loves her and her lets down her defences and embraces the love he has for her.  But of course there has to be more to the story then that!  Read it and find out ;).

It is based on the book of Hosea in the Bible and essentially tells the story of God’s love for us all.  I think that’s why I couldn’t put it down.  He pursued us even when we didn’t even know who he was or what he represented and he was patient to love even when we would go back to our old ways.  He loves us back into wholeness and brings freedom where there was bondage.  He redeems what was lost and brings beauty from the ashes.  I’m so glad that the God of the Bible is my Saviour, the Lover of my soul.

♥ Ames

Leave a Reply

