Home » Heart to Heart » Rewrite.

Rewrite.

Every movie starts with a script.  It is impossible for a script to go into production without a rewrite.

1 This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the LORD: 2 “Go down to the potter’s house, and there I will give you my message.” 3 So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel. 4 But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him.

5 Then the word of the LORD came to me. 6 He said, “Can I not do with you, Israel, as this potter does?” declares the LORD. “Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, Israel.

Jeremiah 18:1-6

…what also happens in our script is that there are characters that populate our script.  And because of some things that happen, we invested in characters that don’t belong in our scene.  There are people who are occupying places in our scene that don’t belong.  So God has to do a rewrite to bring certain characters in and move some characters out.  You cannot be so caught up in your scene that you don’t allow God to bring in the right people at the right time.  There are some characters that you are holding onto right now that you’ve got to let go.  You might have to cry over it, you might have to be depressed over it but let them go. Because God has the right character at the right time that he is waiting to write into your scene but because you were holding onto to that less than character, God says, “I have to wait.  I have to wait until you let go and let me write into your scene the person that I need to come in.”  Are you going to let God write the right characters into your life today?

What is interesting is that when we look at this process of being rewritten, so many times we don’t want to submit.  We don’t want to give it up.  We don’t want to allow God to do His work.  But a script cannot move forward to production unless you submit to the process. 

To hear the full message by Devon Franklin click here.

In a few days, it will be exactly a year that I left my home church of 22 years for the very last time.  In the space of 365 days much has changed.  God has been rewriting my script.  He has brought new people, new friendships, new ministries, new vision and new inspirations.  At first, I didn’t want to let go.  We had so much history together.  We shared our dreams, our hopes, our fears, our lives together.   Surely, God wouldn’t ask me to give this up.  Something that I held so dearly.  But, in my limited capacity, I could only see what was before me while God could see what he wanted to bring into my life.  Now I see and God? How awesome You are!  I can see the growth, expanding of territory and ground.  I know I am not the same girl I was when I walked away and though I treasured that season of my life, there’s no going back if I want to be all God has called me to be.

Edited 1:30pm, 11.04.12.

♥ Ames

Leave a Reply

