Home » Heart to Heart » Easter Reflections 1

Easter Reflections 1

I’ve been in church since I was a few weeks old and through the years, I’ve heard/sung/played a countless number of hymns.  There are some hymns that will always stick in your mind (i.e. ‘Amazing Grace’) and some that you only realise the significance of at different stages in your life.  Last Sunday, one hymn became of the latter.

As I sung the words to ‘The Old Rugged Cross’, all of a sudden they weren’t just words on a screen, they were declarations from my heart:

On a hill far away, stood an old rugged Cross
The emblem of suff’ring and shame
And I love that old Cross where the dearest and best
For a world of lost sinners was slain

So I’ll cherish the old rugged Cross
Till my trophies at last I lay down
I will cling to the old rugged Cross
And exchange it some day for a crown

Oh, that old rugged Cross so despised by the world
Has a wondrous attraction for me
For the dear Lamb of God, left his Glory above
To bear it to dark Calvary

In the old rugged Cross, stain’d with blood so divine
A wondrous beauty I see
For the dear Lamb of God, left his Glory above
To pardon and sanctify me

To the old rugged Cross, I will ever be true
Its shame and reproach gladly bear
Then He’ll call me some day to my home far away
Where his glory forever I’ll share

The Cross is despised by the world because it’s a symbol of a sacrifice that they do not want to accept.  Because to accept it means to admit that we aren’t self-sufficient, that we are in need of a Saviour and nothing we do on our own could measure up to God’s perfect standard.

Some people dismiss Christianity saying it is a crutch, that it is for the weak.  I agree – I know I am weak and I know that I can only do so much on my own strength hence, I put my faith in God, knowing that His grace is enough for me each day.

Perhaps you are reading this now and thinking, why do I even need to bother reaching God’s standard?  I can just live the way I want, there are no repercussion.  Perhaps not in this life, but are you going to take your chances for what could happen on the other side of death?  This is not to scare you but the statistics are true: 10/10 people die and the Bible says that we’ll have to answer for how we used the life we were given to steward and whether we put our faith in Jesus, the Son of God.

The story behind this painting is also amazing... for another blog post :)

Perhaps the afterlife is not a concern for you right now so then, what about right now? Jesus said: I came to give you life, and have it to the full (John 10:10).  God’s plans for your life are better than you could EVER imagine or fashion for yourself!   He conquered death when He was resurrected and through Him we have the power to conquer all problems or challenges in our lives!

This is just the first of a collections of thoughts about the true meaning of Easter… these posts won’t be structured as I’ll just let the words flow and we’ll see where they go!

♥ Ames
Leave a Reply

