Home » Feature Fridays » Feature Fridays: The Sisterhood

Feature Fridays: The Sisterhood

From the moment the conference began, I had the overwhelming impression that ‘Yes, the Church of Jesus Christ is beautiful.’  The Church was shining in all it’s brilliance and not just because of the flawless music, lights, sounds and media… it was the posture of complete surrender, giving worship and all the Glory to the One who began it all.

In its 16th year, the Hillsong Colour Conference aka The Sisterhood, has grown from strength to strength by the grace of God and by the faithful serving of the Hillsong team under the leadership of Bobbie Houston, wife of Brian Houston (pastor of Hillsong church).  The theme this year, ‘A Revolution of Peace’, was a call to respond to an invitation to make the world a better place.

The Colour Sisterhood is in essence, a humanitarian movement.  It is about everyday women using what is in their hand to make a difference.  It is about raising awareness, standing in the gap and finding solution for those who have no voice, or for those who need a helping hand.

It sounds a bit aspirational but throughout the conference, we were given the tools in which we practically could make a difference in the areas of poverty, human trafficking, transformation and empowerment of women, children and families around the world.  We were reminded of those who had gone before us and how we must now pave the way for those who will come after us (related passage:  Hebrews 12:1-2).

There were two guest speakers this year: Priscilla Shirer and Beth Moore, author of ‘The Power of a Praying…’ series.  Both were phenomenal speakers, so articulate and talented at bringing the Word of God to life and breaking it down into something that we could practically use in our daily lives.

It is really hard to adequately verbalise what the conference facilitated in my own spiritual life but I know that it is only the springboard into even greater intimacy with my Saviour and Lover of my soul.  It also cemented in me the ‘need’ to write on a particular essay topic I’d been contemplating for a while.  If you had asked me 12 months ago to write on this topic I may not have had the courage to do it.  But God has just moved so greatly in the last year or so, culminating in the Colour Conference, I feel I owe it to the world to write it (more on this later).

Another thing I was blessed with was the quality time I got to spend with one of my dearest friends.  I was so glad that I could bring her along to share in that experience with me and I am so glad to see the impact the conference made in her own life already.  My prayer is that she and I will not let it have been just an emotional experience that is contain and left in that weekend, but the move of God we encountered will send ripple effects into our worlds.

I also saw the power of unity at work too.  Alone we can do something, but together we can do even greater things for God’s Kingdom.

“If one woman can change her world, imagine what ONE COMPANY of women can do.” – Bobbie Houston

I’ve yet to fully digest and reflect on all I’ve learnt but hopefully it’ll slowly trickle onto this blog as the days go by.  Still haven’t had a chance to really write about the Fasting experience either!

Check out the Colour Sisterhood for yourself:

♥ Ames

Leave a Reply

