Home » Heart to Heart » Learning to say ‘No’.

Learning to say ‘No’.

‘No.’  Such a small word but it has so much power.  It can propel you in one direction or another.  It can bring one person joy and another person heartache.  It can cause you stress or decrease your stress.  All that in just two letters.  Two letters, one syllable that I, at times, find hard to say…

There are a lot of things I want.

I want to be an amazing guitarist.  I want to be a great teacher and preacher of the Word.  I want to go and fight injustice in a third world country.  I want to be up to date with all the trendy restaurants and food joints.  I want to be a top honours law student.  I want to volunteer my time in the community.  I want to be all I can be for my friends.  I want to invest proper time and effort into my piano students.  I want to be an involved sister to my autistic brother.  I want to reach and save the lost.  I want to run a fundraising event for the Trust Fund I started.  I want to be an encouragement to my parents.  I want to be a talented photographer.  I want to cook delicious meals.  I want to have a consistent and dynamic prayer life.  I want to be a super witty and clever blogger.

There are a lot of things I want but I can’t be all of these at once.  Maybe one day I can do/be all these things, but right now, I’m learning how to say, ‘No’. Saying ‘No’ is not necessarily a bad thing… it’s about what is effective.  It’s about saying ‘No’ for a greater ‘Yes’.  I know that it’s better to do a few things well then to do a lot of things mediocre.  It’s about knowing what’s a priority, knowing what God wants me or you to do right now this year, this month, this week, this moment.

How do we know what to do and what should be placed on the back burner?  Make some time, make some space to get still, get quiet and cast your burdens on the Lord.  Petition Him to show you where to invest your time and I guarantee, that as you wait on Him, He’ll reveal His heart for you, to you.

It worked for me :).  Try it and see!

♥ Ames

4 thoughts on “Learning to say ‘No’.

Leave a Reply

