Home » Feature Fridays » Feature Fridays – Eat Out: Help Out Project

Feature Fridays – Eat Out: Help Out Project

A new series of posts: “Feature Fridays” – I’m going to try to commit to posting something that inspires me whether it be a cause, a quote, a book, a song, a picture etc. each Friday.  I’ve also created a link from my ‘new’ blog to this one so welcome to first time readers…

One of the things I had time to reflect about during the fast was how much money I actually spend on food in any given week.  I love trying new restaurants and cafes but once I started working full-time as well, I watched my funds diminish at a more rapid pace.  I was also reading a book that made me face the reality that many people are dying of hunger everyday – 25 000 people in fact.  That’s almost a uncomprehensible number and to think that I was spending $10 for lunch each day while this is happening… I couldn’t live with that knowledge and do nothing but at the same time, I wondered about how I, as one person, could make a difference.  That’s what inspired the Eat Out: Help Out Project.

Click on the button above to learn about the concept and the purpose.  I don’t know who is going to join or even if this will ever take off but I know that I can do my part in making a difference in the lives of people other than myself and my immediate circle of friends and family.  I’ve decided that I’m going to donate my first $100 to Feed the Hungry Australia.  This was one of the first organisations that made me think that this idea was something achievable.  Their $6 = 100 meals campaign on the Australian Christian Channel has convinced me that this is something doable and something I want to get involved in.  I’m going to post food blog posts about the restaurants that I attend from now on and how much is being donated to charity each time.

I hope this encourages you to think about where you spend your money (maybe food isn’t your greatest expenditures) and who you spend it on… if the majority of it is on yourself, then perhaps it’s time to look away from self and look to helping those who could never give you anything back in return.  Let’s exchange selfishness for selflessness.

The cruelest man alive could not sit at his feast unless he sat blindfolded.

– Amy Carmichael

♥ Ames

2 thoughts on “Feature Fridays – Eat Out: Help Out Project

  1. Programs like this are great. In my city, there are a few cafes that are run by charities so that the profits go to benefit the group or people affected by the group. Such a great concept.

    • There is one cafe I know in the Melbourne CBD that also does something similar. I love going there (even though their food is a bit hit and miss) because I know that my money is going to a good cause in the end :). Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

