Home » Creative Writing » A Story: Friend For Life, Part 2 – how it developed

A Story: Friend For Life, Part 2 – how it developed

Part 1 can be found here.  This is how I remember it…

The event started and they were nowhere to be seen.  I put it out of my mind and enjoyed the praise and worship with a dear sister beside me.  Then, about halfway through the third song, out of the corner of my eye, I saw the brother and sister come in through the side doors.  My heart gave a little leap and I couldn’t help but smile and shake my head.  He came!  We barely spoke that night but I remember being slightly embarrassed when the guest band turned out to be of the ‘head-banging’ type (seriously, I don’t get how someone could understand whatever Christian message they were trying to get through by their music!) and apologising to him for it.  Sadly, they were only able to stay for half of the sermon but I was still glad that they were able to make it.  I felt like it was such a great achievement and was mentally patting myself on the back for somehow being the catalyst to get him there.

Over the course of the next few weeks, we somehow ended up chatting on MSN (so old-school!) or sending text messages back and forth on the mundane everyday things.  I didn’t think too much about it because in my mind, the goal was to get him to know Christ and I thought it was important we became friends before I could really talk to him on that level.  I remember the I HEART REVOLUTION being played in the cinemas and I really wanted to go.  He had a car.  Need I say more?  We were going with two of my friends however, they were majorly late so we spent a fair bit of time just waiting outside the cinemas and chatting.  Who knows what about but given that he was so aloof when I saw him at church, I thought we were making progress.

He was the first guy that gave me chocolate… well, he was the first guy (outside of family or family friends) that gave me a gift at all.  And for any possible occasion.  You can probably see where this is going but in my naivety, I didn’t connect the dots.

I put it all down to him being the sweet, kind and considerate guy that I always knew he was underneath that ‘too cool for you’ attitude.  To be honest, I did develop feelings (beyond friendship) for him but the cold reception that I received when we were in the company of others, sent me mixed signals.  In addition, when I did try to talk about God and my relationship with Jesus, I was met with a blank expression or sensed a lack of interest.  Knowing that He didn’t love My Jesus the way I adored Him, I backed down and settled into what I thought was a good platonic relationship.

Little did I know…

♥ Ames

