Home » Heart to Heart » the value of solitude

the value of solitude

My dad has been subscribing to A Minute with John Maxwell for a few months now and I like to watch them when I remember (it’s just one minute of your life after all!) and Today’s Word was Solitude.  Two quotes stuck out for me:

Reflection turns experience into insight.

In our desire to grow and go, we many times need to pause and let growth catch up with us.

I think solitude has been devalued in our society.  We’re told that we’ve got to stay connected via Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Google+, blogs or any other forms of social media- all the time, all day, everyday to not miss out on what’s going on for fear of being left out of the loop…  I’m guilty of this most days.  However, I think the greatest moments in my life have been where I’ve taken time out from the busy pace of everyday living to gather my thoughts, reflect and journal/blog about what I can learn from something I’ve read, heard or experienced.  Once I’ve done that, I can internalise it and it then becomes a part of my working-knowledge of how to respond should I ever be in that particular situation again.

I remember my mum telling me once about a comment that my old piano teacher had made about me.  My old piano teacher teaches my brother after hours now so she sees my mum most weeks during the school term.  Anyhow, her comment was along the lines of, ‘Amy is the one of the wisest girls her age that I know.’

Now stop.  Pause.  Wisest girl she knows?  That’s a big statement because she teaches at a girl school and hence knows many, many girls and in I’m sure that amongst them, there must be someone wiser than me.  I’ve never really thought of myself as wise but I do seek after wisdom.   

Fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom. – Proverbs 9:10

May we all take the time out today (and everyday) to reflect and grow in wisdom.

♥ Ames

Leave a Reply

