Home » Heart to Heart » Spiritual Matters » life-giving words

life-giving words

I can’t help but feel incredibly thankful for the life I’m living right now.  Even in the midst of an intense study period, God’s given me lots to be thankful for.

I wasn’t expecting a full class on Sunday but I was pleasantly surprised.  Added bonus was that they still remembered the verses I’d given them to memorise!  I’ve set memory verses for my teens before but I guess since I didn’t really take it seriously, they didn’t either.  It’s so true how you can’t lead others where you haven’t gone yourself.  I can quote a lot from the Bible but earlier this year, I’ve also realised the importance of knowing where it’s from when you are sharing about it too – “this is not something that I’m just saying, it’s written in the Bible too!” So I decided to knuckle down and just do it.

First up was Romans 8:28 –>

And we know that in all things, God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to his purpose.

I love this verse because it reminds me that no matter what season I am in, God is working ALL things (the good and the bad) for my good.  All trials and difficulties shape me more into the person He has created me to be – more and more like Christ in every way.

I meditated on this verse for a week before I gave the teens Proverbs 3:6 –>

In all your ways, acknowledge [Him] and He will make your paths straight.

Practically what does this mean?  When you wake up, give thanks for a new day.  Before you study, pray for wisdom and a clear mind.  In everything you do, bring Him into that situation… not just before each meal :).

Next was another favourite, Jeremiah 29:11 –>

For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord.  Plans to prosper you and not to harm you.  Plans for a hope and a future.

Similar to Romans 8:28, this verse reminds me that the best is yet to come :).  God is in control and I’m not.  His timing is better than anything I could do on my own strength.  Take heart, dear friends as there is purpose behind any delay in a fulfilled prayer or a challenging situation.

The one I assigned this week was related to the topic of being an encourager, Proverbs 12:25 –>

Anxiety weighs down the heart, but a kind word cheers it up.

Our words have the ability to either tear someone down or lift their spirits up.  Let’s choose the latter every time :).

What’s your favourite verse?

♥ Ames

Leave a Reply

