Home » Heart to Heart » Spiritual Matters » keeping the right perspective

keeping the right perspective

He is a wonder. 

My cousin had asked if we could have our class time outdoors today and I had to apologise and say no.  My foot pains has been flaring up again and I just wanted to avoid walking as much as possible (we’d have to trek over to a nearby park).  He said, “It’s all in your head, Amy.”  I didn’t say anything in return but inside I thought, ‘Whoa, that’s a bit insensitive!’

I decided to share on the topic of ‘Keeping the Right Perspective’.  It was a message I’d heard from Joel Osteen which I thought would be quite relevant given that we’re in the home stretch towards exams now (October already- it’s gone so fast!). 

A few points that were touched on:

  • We all face challenges, but it’s all about your perspective i.e. the 10 negative reports vs Caleb and Joshua’s report that were brought back to Moses
    • Caleb and Joshua focused on the size of their God as opposed to focusing on the size of their enemy –> Your perspective may be what is keeping you out of your Promise Land
  • David never called Goliath a giant – He never denied it, but he didn’t focus on it (He instead called him that ‘uncircumcised Philistine’- 1 Samuel 17:26)
    • David knew that if God be for him, who could ever be against him – instead of the mentality that Goliath was too big to beat, he had the perspective that the giant was ‘too big to miss’ (I LOVE THAT!)
  • It was David’s victory over Goliath that won him the love of the people, which in turn made him the 2nd king of the Israelites –> what was meant for David’s harm, God turned around to promote him
    • It may look like a set back, but God will use it to ‘set you up’ for greatness
    • What may look like a stumbling block, God can use as a stepping stone to take you to the next level in Him
  • Instead of talking to God about how big our problems are, talk to our problems about how big our God is…
  • He is ‘Jehovah Jireh’ – the God who provides, and He is able to do exceedingly abundantly more than we could ever ask or hope for (Ephesians 3:20) – MAJOR LOVE!

I reflected on these points on the way home and it brought me back to what my cousin said earlier: ‘It’s all in your head’… and I guess there’s a fair bit of truth in it.  It’s all about perspective and what I choose to dwell on.  Sure I believe God can heal me but since the pain returned, my prayers have mainly been, ‘God, it hurts so much.  I just want to be able to walk, run and swim normally again.  Please take away the pain.’

But on reflection, I prayed, ‘God, I thank you for your healing power.  I declare in faith that I am healed.  Pain, go away, in Jesus’ Name.’  And I’m being completely honest about this- I did a little jog on the spot before and I didn’t feel any pain! Praise God!  I know that God doesn’t necessarily work this way in every situation… sometimes it may take more than one prayer and healing may happen over time, but I still thank God for using my own teaching points, to minister to me today :).

Praise God, praise Him in the Highest!

♥ Ames

Leave a Reply

