Home » Heart to Heart » Relationships » NFH: praying for you

NFH: praying for you

Hey darling boy,

Did you know that you’ve got a whole host of people praying for you?  You haven’t even met them yet but they are :).  I spoke to my Auntie on the phone the other day (she lives with her family in Chicago – we should go visit them one day!) and she asked about you… well to be exact, she asked if I was dating anyone haha (or to be even more blunt, ‘Do you have a boyfriend yet?’).  I actually find these conversations quite amusing and I tell her what I’ve always told my relatives, “No, not yet but we’ve been praying for him.”  She told me they’ve been praying for you too, for the kind of man you are going to be and as she rattled off the things she’s been praying for, I couldn’t help but feel so blessed to have such wonderful people on my team ^^.  I think it’s pretty neat, don’t you?  I wonder how many prayers will be said over your life before we meet…?  Hehe, I can’t wait to tell you how some 7 year olds ended up praying for you too ;).

Somehow, I feel like we won’t be meeting for a while… there’s just a feeling like there’s so much to be accomplished in the next 2 years that I won’t be able to give you the adequate time, love, energy and devotion that I want to give to you.  But we’ll see I guess, it’s all in God’s capable hands and I trust that if there’s a ‘you and me’, it’ll happen in His own perfect time :).

Love always, your girl.

♥ Ames

2 thoughts on “NFH: praying for you

  1. Beautiful. At the age of thirteen I overheard my parents speak of a couple who was gettting a divorce. It was the first time I had ever heard of divorce. I thought of my own parents and the pain and tragedy that would come to my heart if they ever divorced. I was overwhelmed with an immense feeling of loss just hearing of such tragedy. At that moment, I understood that I could not see into a person’s heart. I knew I could not know their past, present, or future. How could I know? How could I trust another person to be faithful to the hope I had to be married ’till death do we part?’ I couldn’t know. I couldn’t see into a heart nor into the future. But God could. Only God. So I began asking…trusting…God to send the one my way who could put up with me for the whole of our lives.:). And God honored my prayer. We have been married forty-seven years now. We have four children. One is very happy with a husband ordained as a Deacon in his church at the age of 24 while still single. My daughter stood with him at the ordination. They have two beautiful daughters. Monitarily they are blessed. Our second child, a son, who divorced after his wife left for someone else…. works out-of-state and is missing out on his daughter’s daily life. I bear some responsibility in that I did not prepare him adequately…teach him…warn him…about Satan’s desire to devour his happiness. I assummed he knew. Going to church is not enough. Our third child was born with a heart defect and lived twenty-two minutes. We named him Benjamin after Jacob and Rachel’s Benjamin of whom Jacob called ‘child of my old age.’ I was 36 and my husband was 38 when he was born. Our fourth child whom I saw in a vision just before the birth of Benjamin is a Type 1 diabetic since age ten. She is intellectually and athletically gifted. She graduated from college in August after have six years worth of scholarship and was hired this week by that university where she will have good insurance and free tuition for her masters degree. But I grieve for her affliction and fear she will not find the soul mate in whom she can trust and on whom she can lean…who will love her. She is 27.

    Yet in my heart I know…I know…that the possibility for wholeness…happiness…completeness is not a myth. I still know, as I did at 13, that the peace which passes understanding is to be had in ones heart. I thought I had found that peace until my children began to experience afflictions. A recently prayed the prayer of David and said ‘Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: Ps 139:24 And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.’ God answered that prayer and my heart is broken. I see my own apostasy…my incredible guilt of assuming my children were safe from the destroyer. My heart is wearing sackcloth and wallowing in ashes. For the first time in my life I am seeking something that cannot be found in doctrines nor in traditions. I am seeking fellowship with Christ…the place of promise which says, ‘Joh 15:7 If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you.’

    Joh 15:10 If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love.’ Yet my southern Baptist doctrine and tradition taught me that the church building is the ‘house of God.’ But God said my body is to be the Temple of God. My tradition taught me that the church building is the ‘house of worship.’ But God says He is Spirit. And those that worship Him must worship in Spirit and in Truth. My tradition taught me that ‘we are human and cannot keep the commandments.’ But God says, Joh 14:21 He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him,
    and will manifest myself to him.’

    In my heart, I am still 13. And I am fully learning what it means to be the Bride of Christ…fully learning the concept of ‘becoming one.’ Christ is the ultimate ‘darling boy.’

    WEll, I am sure this spilling of my guts in response to your post..:), is more than you wanted or needed to hear :). But your words were deep…sincere…and reminded me of the desires of my own heart.

    Carolyn

  2. No no, thank YOU for sharing your story. You are right, he is the ultimate ‘darling boy’ who’s been wooing us since the day of our birth, longing for us to be united with him not through doctrine, tradition or religion but as you said – fellowship and relationship for which we were created for.

    Continue praying for your children, there is nothing more powerful than a parent’s prayer for their child – my parents can testify to that :). When I entered into a relationship that they knew was not of God, they prayed day and night for me (especially when I thought I knew better than them and would not listen to them) and by the grace of God, I am free from the damage that it was doing me. I know it is something that I need to lay down to God at the start of every day but I am getting there, with His strength and power.

    When we pray, though we may not see something happen in the physical realm, things have began in the spiritual realm so take heart and may the joy of the Lord be your strength!

    Blessings, Amy

Leave a Reply

