Home » Life » slipping through my fingers

slipping through my fingers

Once again I am struck with the reality of how fast time flies.  It’s Monday again!  A week goes by so fast when you only have classes on 3 out of 5 weekdays.

Other thoughts… A friend I remember seeing just before her 6 week placement in China has already returned to Melbourne. We’re halfway through August already.  I’m more than halfway through my second degree.

For the first time in my life, I’ve had to sit down and contemplate what kind of career to pursue.  In many respects, the foundations are already there… it’ll probably be something in the legal field but then, there are so many options!  I have the general gist… some combination of employment law, public interest law, human rights law, pro bono law… anything that will bring me in contact with people and give me the opportunity to make a real difference in someone else’s life.  But even then, which firm?  Large, mid or small? Or maybe not a firm at all?

But then I think of some of the other things that I could do with my life.  My primary school dream was to grow up and be a teacher (mainly because my primary school teachers were just so awesome, I wanted to be just like them!).  I guess I’ve had a taste of it with teaching piano and swimming but it won’t be the same as having a classroom full of kids from 9am-3:30pm where you have the opportunity to mold the leaders of tomorrow! lol, that does sound a bit aspirational but I think a lot of who I am has been because of those amazing teachers I had from Prep – Grade 6.

Then there is full-time ministry.  I remember a speaker who came to my church (the old one) once and commented about how I would make a great youth pastor.  That’s stayed with me for the longest time and was confirmed at least twice since then… it would make it easier to lead into conversations about God when people ask me what my profession is haha.

And then there’s the music thing.  Well the singing thing, really.  I’d love to be able to devote some solid time to just sitting at the piano and convert my thoughts into songs and record them.

Of course there are the more immediate things like a possible missions trip in the summer… but what if I get a clerkship during that timeframe?  And thoughts about maybe applying for a leadership role in the law school in the new year…?  And when am I supposed to catch up with all these people I said I was going to catch up with???

There’s just too many things that I want to do and at times I feel like ‘time’ is just slipping through my fingers.

Argh, if I think about it anymore, I’m just gonna go around in circles lol.  God, I give it all over to You.  Please help me prioritise.  Give me Your wisdom so that I know when to do what, and what to do when.  Thank you that You know the way even if it all looks a bit fuzzy and hazy from my point of view.  I trust You with my future, with my life, with my everything.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways, acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight. – Proverbs 3:5-6

IJN, Amen and Good Night/Morning.

♥ Ames

Leave a Reply

