Home » Heart to Heart » Spiritual Matters » A prayer at 22

A prayer at 22

There are some things you only learn with age.

When you are young, you believe that all the friends that you have will be there forever.  When you are young, you think you know it all and you can do it all.

When you have a few more candles on your birthday cake, you realise that though some may stay a bit longer, most friends were only ever going to be there for a season no matter how many pinky promises or pledges were made.  When you have a few more candles on your birthday cake, you’ll find that there are a whole new set of travellers who are willing and able to take the next leg of the journey with you.

When you are older, you learn to not hold on as tight as you used to.  When you are older, you learn it’s okay to let go and it’s okay for things to not last forever.

A prayer at 22

Teach me to live with wisdom, Lord.  Teach me to be wise in the decisions I make (since life is really just a series of decisions after all).  Teach me to be wise in how I use my time – help me to be wise in the movies I watch, the music I listen to, the words I say, the thoughts I meditate on.  I need Your wisdom.  My life is Yours.  Make me more like Jesus.  Pour out more of me so that there is more room for You to shine in and through me.  Give me Your eyes to see the world as it truly is.  In Your Name, Amen.

♥ Ames

Leave a Reply

