Home » Heart to Heart » Spiritual Matters » no nest here!

no nest here!

“Many of us struggle with constant thoughts of worthlessness, discontentment, resentment, or fear. Those kinds of thoughts are merely temptation from our enemy – he is tempting us to believe lies about ourselves, others, or our King. Martin Luther once wrote, “You can’t stop the birds from flying over your head, but you can keep them from building a nest in your hair.” We may not be able to keep the thoughts from entering our mind, but we can keep them from staying in our mind—by kicking them out the moment they arrive! Giving in to those thoughts and allowing them to linger in our head allows them to take root inside our heart and begin to control our life. Remember that protecting our inner sanctuary is not just a defensive action; it is offensive as well. And one of the best offensive moves we can make is to set up a guard station at the entrance of our mind. Instead of passively allowing any and all random thoughts to saunter right on in and hang out for as long as they want, we must actively begin chasing away any thought that is not a reflection of Jesus Christ.”

– taken from set apart devotionals by Leslie Ludy

Now I finally understand why I was so up and down all the time.  It was so silly… I think there were times when I just got too confident in myself, thinking that I was so over it all, that I let my defences down and hence, the negative thoughts came and I just let them stay there and grow into something ugly… before finally coming to my senses and clearing out the junk.  However, after a few weeks of cruising, the cycle would start again because I just wasn’t being careful.  The difference this time is that I’m actually aware of the fact that I can be on the offensive when it comes to my thought life.  I don’t have to just let the thoughts consume me each time they enter my mind.

I can feel the difference.  I’ve woken up the past two days with this sense of… difference lols.  It’s a hard feeling to describe… there’s just such a contentment with having everything out in the open, having taken responsibility for my actions and been truthful to those closest to my heart.  But, at the same time, I’m being alert to the fact that the S dude is looking for opportunities to trip me up again so I have to be careful with how I spend my time.  And constantly depend on God for strength and wisdom.

All is well… The confident, life-loving single gal pre-Oct 2009 is back, baby! lols, but a better version and she’s here to stay.  Praise the Lord.

♥ Ames

Leave a Reply

