Home » Heart to Heart » L’amour

L’amour

Argh, my French is so bad now… spent about five minutes trying to work out how to phrase, ‘What is love?’ for the title but I just wasn’t confident with my final answer (Quel est l’amour ?) so I thought I’d just stick with what I know haha.

Love is probably one topic that gets written about a lot over here… maybe that should become part of my ‘About me’ section – I love talking about ‘love’ lols.

*sigh*

So what is it?  How does it manifest?  In the years that I’ve been in a Vietnamese church, I’ve heard this passage (below) read out at so many weddings that when I was younger, my thoughts were, ‘What, again?  Can’t they come up with anything original?’ lols, but of course, as I’ve grown up, I’ve come to appreciate this definition of love…

1 If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. 3 If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

8 Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

– 1 Corinthians 13

I remember the day we met.  I remember the conversations we had.  I remember the fears we shared.  I remember the prayers we lifted up.  Now my heart grieves for the broken pieces that you don’t want to repair.  But I give it to Him and if it’s meant to be restored, He’ll make a way even when there seems to be no way.  If this is the end of our journey together, then I will always be thankful for the footsteps you left in my life.  I love you.

♥ Ames

2 thoughts on “L’amour

    • Fond acceptance is probably closer than absence of hate… I believe love encompasses accepting the person the way they are, faults and all, and always wanting the best for them over your own interests.

      Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

