Home » News » Ex-Changing Roles

Ex-Changing Roles

It’s a rare day when I actually find some insight from the gossip column of MX.  It’s an even rarer day when I publish a post while I’m in class (FYI, I typed most of this while on my way to uni- efficient, no?).  The ‘article’ was entitled, ‘Peachy keen to be buds’, from the MX on May 9, 2011.  I’ve extracted bits of it below and I’ll let the words speak for themselves:

“Peaches Geldof and Eli Roth have given me a lot to think about.  The exes, who broke up six months ago, have been spotted out together, sparking rumours they are back on.  Or are they?  Surprisingly, most tabloids are sticking to the story they are just friends. (then BLAH BLAH BLAH)  Cynicism aside, can you really be friends with your ex? (insert bit about how Peaches’ current bf would probably say a few things).  Otherwise, it’s fair to say the friendship prospects of a former couple all comes down to the break-up. (bit more stuff about Peaches and Eli’s reasons for breaking up).  A boyfriend or girlfriend is also often a best friend, so when the relationship dies, does that mean the friendship is terminal?

Liz Hurley and Hugh Grant have remained besties since splitting 11 years ago. (A bit about their friendship). “We have separate lives now but we are there for each other and that’s what counts.”  Demi Moore and Bruce Willis still vacation together- with respective partners.  How’s that for happy extended families? “It’s hard to understand, but we go on holidays together.”  Willis says.  “I’m thrilled that Ashton turned out to be such a great guy.” (ha!)  Cameron Diaz is even starring in a movie with her ex Justin Timberlake.  “We break up.  We move on.  All I want for him is happiness. And all he wants is my happiness,” Diaz says.  “We’re good at being funny together.  That’s easy.”

So… can ex mark the bestie spot?

I have to say that I was in agreement with a few points from here a blog post that has since been deleted… hmmmm. Well, the initial step in the healing process after a break up (I believe) is to go cold turkey for a bit… it’s like getting off a drug (I assume) where you have to learn to be dependent from something (or in the case of a relationship, someone) that had previously consumed so much of your life.  But after you have completed rehabilitation, what happens next?  Like the author of that ‘article’, (for once) the celebrity exes have given me a bit to think about.

♥ Ames

Leave a Reply

