Home » Food » Mini Chocolate Muffins

Mini Chocolate Muffins

Just watched an episode of ‘Good Chef, Bad Chef’ (gotta love afternoon TV) and thought it was time for a food post (aka it’s the weekend for me-ish: interning tomorrow but not too much brain-work required)!

A friend requested some mini cupcakes for her birthday last week so thanks to Google, I found a quick recipe and of course I got my camera out ;).  If you just want the written version, see here but my version with have photos! hehehe

Dry ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups self raising flour, sifted
  • 1/3 cup cocoa, sifted
  • 1/3 cup CSR SMART

Liquid ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 1 cup low fat milk (I used full cream)

Method

1. Lightly grease 2, 12 hole (2 tablespoon capacity) mini muffin trays.  Preheat oven to 200°C conventional or 180°C fan forced.
2. Combine flour, cocoa and CSR SMART together in a medium bowl.
3. Mix the vanilla, egg, oil and milk in a separate bowl.
4. Gently pour the wet ingredients into the dry and lightly fold together until just combined. Over mixing will give tougher muffins.

still a bit lumpy here...

5. Divide mixture evenly between each cup of the mini muffin pans.

6. Bake muffins for 15-17 minutes, or until they spring back when gently touched in the centre. Leave in tray for 5 minutes, then gently remove and cool on a wire rack.

Makes about 24 mini muffins :).

Instead of dusting it with icing sugar, I went all out with colourful icing ^^.

The green didn’t really stand out so she had some Aussie colours :).  Sadly, I had no common sense about the icing (plus I was trying to keep my bro from eating them) so after I decorated them, I placed the cupcakes in the car without refrigerating them… let’s just say I’m glad I took a photo of the finished product before showing her ^^’.

Had some extra batter so…

:).

Happy times ! They were very moist and the peeps enjoyed it… as long as they popped it in their mouths quickly lols.

OK, I’m cooking dinner so better get prepping!

♥ Ames

4 thoughts on “Mini Chocolate Muffins

  1. Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing this post. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    • Cheers, it was fun putting the post (and the muffins) together :). I will definitely check out the recipes… always on the lookout for food that is quick, simple and tastes good :).

Leave a Reply

