Home » Goals » 101 in 1001 » #28. to #31. ‘Summer Flicks’

#28. to #31. ‘Summer Flicks’

In an attempt to clear the slate of this blog space in anticipation of many new and other exciting things to write about, I give you a quick rundown of the movies viewed this summer (this is in relation to goal 28 from my 101 in 1001 list).  I can’t remember the exact dates when I watched them so….

#28. The Green Hornet (2011)

Occasion: taking cousins and Fi for their belated Christmas pressie movie shout :)

Rating: 3/10

Thoughts: I guess after a string of good movies, there had to be a dud somewhere along the line… I found the main character obnoxious and frankly awful.  He treated everyone so horribly and swore his head off so often that I wanted to cover the ears of my teenage cousins!  Even in light of his troubled childhood, I couldn’t muster any sympathy for the supposed hero.  That said,  Jay Chou wasn’t as bad as I thought he was going to be… his English was still a bit incomprehensible at times but he, along with the cool gadgets, were the only things in the movie that kept me from walking out.

 

 

 

 

 

#29. Persuasion (2007)

Occasion: Girls Night In at Miss Sunshine’s :)

Rating: 8/10

Thoughts: I do love the classics.  I hadn’t read Jane Austen’s Persuasion but there was no way I was going to pass up the opportunity to meet some of the awesome girls I knew Miss Sunshine would be bringing together :).  The movie itself moved at a good pace and the mix of loveable and detestable characters made for good entertainment indeed.  It followed the standard Jane Austen formula with the poor but intelligent heroine with the slightly aloof love interest… we were all amused by the array of miscommunications that happened throughout the course of the film and I have to say that I found the running commentary that everyone participated in whilst watching the film as enjoyable as the film itself.  This will not be everyone’s cup of tea but if you can appreciate the English countryside and the beauty of English literature then it is definitely one to watch in the company of like-minded friends :).

 

 

 

 

#30. Morning Glory (2010)

Occasion: In-flight entertainment on the way to WA :)

Rating: 8/10

Thoughts: I’ve been meaning to watch this ever since it got released so imagine my excitement when I found out that this was going to be the film for our flight hehehe.  Rachel McAdams is such a flawless actress and beautiful as ever in the role of Becky Fuller, the career driven new producer.  With an all-star cause it wasn’t hard for this film to do well… I loved how the wall that Harrison Ford’s character had built up around his heart is slowly taken down by Becky’s persistence, upbeat, positive and contagious attitude.  I loved the soundtrack of this movie as well, particularly the two songs that kicked in when Becky starts running back to the studio towards the end… I guess a feel-good romantic comedy that I probably won’t watch again any time soon, but wouldn’t mind staying a few moments there if it was shown on TV on a weeknight lols.

 

 

 

 

 

#31. The Social Network (2010)

Occasion: In-flight entertainment on trip back to Melb :P

Rating: 4/10

Thoughts: Honestly, I didn’t really like this one.  I generally like to watch movies based on true events but this one was kinda tragic… Not much I want or need to say except that I wish I had watched ‘Life as we know it’ first so that I could have finished it all the way through before arriving back at Melb…

Meh.

*Disclaimer: All ratings are purely based on my own personal opinions.

♥ Ames

Leave a Reply

