Home » Life » My Other Niche

My Other Niche

I’ve found my second niche, the first one being here.  I love teaching!  It has been over 3 years since I started teaching piano and swimming and I have loved every moment of it but today, as I stood in front of the kiddies in our Kids’ Church to share the message, I couldn’t help but feel like I was in my element.  Back track a few years and you would find a very nervous and shy girl who detested public speaking, avoiding it at all costs.  I’m amazed at how God has paved the way for me all these years, getting me to a place where I actually get pleasure, enjoyment and a definitely-helpful adrenaline rush from standing up and speaking to a bunch of kids :).  I told my mum this and she commented that teaching must be in my blood since she was a teacher back in Vietnam, two of my cousins tutor and my uncle runs a piano school. Maybe…?

From as early as I can remember, I always wanted to be a teacher.  I attribute it to the fact that I had some really amazing primary school teachers and I wanted to be just like them :).  But when I hit high school and we started having a different teacher for each subject, I didn’t develop the same rapport I had with my earlier teachers who’d played such a large part in shaping the person I am today.  And as the story goes, I went on a school excursion to the Melbourne Magistrates’ Court in Year 10 which opened my eyes to the legal system and all that it represented.  I was fascinated by the concept of justice and found my way into doing work experience at a law firm and subsequently at a local magistrate court before being sold to the idea of studying law.

It’s taken me a few years to get to where I am now, but I’m lovin’ it.  How I get to do both of the things I love on a regular basis is beyond me… actually no, I’m just so extremely blessed :).  Now if we can perhaps combine my love for law, my love for teaching and my love for writing we may have a winner :D.

BTW, I ended up baking the cookies ;).  Will post about it tomorrow, or the next day, or maybe never lols.  We’ll see…

♥ Ames

Leave a Reply

