Home » Goals » 101 in 1001 » #50. San Cho

#50. San Cho

298-302 High St,

Kew VIC

(03) 9852 9119

We celebrated the 1st month of my cousin’s little boy, Emmanuel over the weekend and of course, lots of food accordingly :).  Our CNY was a very low-key one so this little relo get-together for the little one made it feel more like CNY for me… plus, a few red pockets never hurt anyone ;).  As much as I loved receiving them, I’m looking forward to the day when I can give out some red pockets of my own if anyone gets my drift hehehe.

As per tradition, all guests were presented with eggs dyed red for the festivities and the choice of eggs are to symbolise new life (?).

Standard cold meat platter… I hadn’t eaten at all before this feast so it tasted particularly good :).

Instead of plain rice, the family hosting the lunch opted for abalone fried rice…I really liked it but didn’t realise that it was to be eaten with the main dishes that came after… and hence, I finished my own bowl before any other dishes came hehehe.

This was a very interesting tasting dish… because the menu was already set, I had no idea what the name of it was but it had an odd taste that took us a while to work out… turns out it had kumquat flavoured sauce… definitely not your usual Chinese seasoning, but interesting…

This was my favourite… again, I’m not sure what it was called but the egg based dish with rice noodles was so silky that I kept going back for more… it was very light too so made it more enjoyable.

Chow with fermented tofu flavouring… nice.

Steamed chicken…. standard I guess.  Was a bit dry for my liking.

Fish!  Not sure what kind… but it was alright.  I was kinda full by the time this came out… *shrugs*

‘Twas a lovely lunch, especially since I got to see my little (2nd) cousin for the first time :).  Probably not somewhere I’d go specifically to again but if I was in the area, it’s somewhere you know can’t really go wrong :).

*Disclaimer: All food ratings are purely based on my own experiences and how I feel about the quality, food and service.

Overall Food Rating (Dining experience): 7/10

Restaurant Ambiance: 7/10

Service: 8/10

Value for money: bit hard to say since I wasn’t paying lols

♥ Ames

P.S. I think this will be my last post for a while… I probably shouldn’t have even written this but I’d just resized these photos so I thought I’d indulge a bit before heading full steam ahead for this essay!! Take care people :).

P.P.S. Though I haven’t written up every single one yet, this post also marks the completion of goal #21. from my 101 in 1001 list ! Woot !

Leave a Reply

