Home » Life » My Niche

My Niche

I felt like a little kid in a candy store this morning as I walked out from Flagstaff Station… I passed Flagstaff Gardens (which has a story of its own) to get onto the right side of the road and as I strolled in the early morning sunshine, I caught reflections of a smile that had crept onto my face as I passed by the shop front windows :).  Family Courts, Magistrates Courts, Supreme Courts, County Courts…*blissful smile*. It was in those moments that I realised that law is really what I want to spend (at least) the next few years of my life (career-wise) pursuing… It’s such a lovely feeling to be doing something you enjoy and not because you feel burdened to or just for the prestige.

My first day interning also gave me a glimpse of the kind of work I want to be doing in the legal field as well.  I feel so blessed to have been given such an opportunity.  I have mentioned before how disillusioned I became midway through 2010, feeling disconnected from what I was studying and the idea of working up the food-chain in a corporate law firm which had been pitched to us had no appeal and was something I couldn’t see myself doing or enjoying.  His timing is always right though :).  When thoughts of giving it all up crossed my mind, a lunch time info session about working for not-for-profit organisations popped up and in a last effort to find some hope in it all, I decided to go along.  Finally, I heard what I’d been searching for.  I was reminded of the reasons I’d wanted to study law in the first place… and today, even though we spent most of our time learning the ropes around our organisation, I felt like I’d found my niche.  Of course I can’t predict the future, but I think this is the kind of place I want to devote my time and energy into.  I think I’m definitely more suited to this kind of work environment and being able to help the ones who are most in need, when they have nowhere and no one else to turn to… this is why I’m doing law.  I’ve been told that I may have to do a few years of ‘black-letter law’ before I’ll be able to eligible for a paid-role in this kind of organisation but perhaps in the same way that Jacob worked more years so he could marry his love, Rachel, the years will pass by quickly and it’ll be worth it in the end :).

♥ Ames

P.S. Finally ready to open up this new residence to the ‘wider friend-public’ I think so….. welcome to new visitors!

5 thoughts on “My Niche

  1. What a wonderful feeling, to enjoy what you are doing and to have seen a glimpse of the future. To have found a niche. I’m so glad it worked out! I came here to thank you for the email. I’m working on my response now, and will not stop until I’ve sent it off! :)

    • It is wonderful, I’m very thankful :). It’ll all work itself out for you too, m’dear. In good time (though we’re always wanting it to speed it up aren’t we?). A patience-learning experience lols it has been for me as well :).

      Looking forward to your email !! It probably could have just been a comment on the blog but I tend to ramble so…. :D.

      <3

      • Which books? The ones listed on my Wishlist? :)

        I’m not sure which types you mean but I’m an INFJ via the Myer-Briggs test… which are you? Also don’t need to post this here, happy to get an email ;).

Leave a Reply

