Home » Food » Review: Kam Bo

Review: Kam Bo

Finally….

1 Mahoneys Road

Forest Hill VIC 3131

(03) 9894 7933

It was my parents’ 26th wedding anniversary a few weeks ago and amongst the little celebrations they had with family, my parents, my visiting Aunty from Sydney and I went out for ‘supper’ at our local and favourite Chinese Restaurant, Kam Bo (I think it’s translated as ‘Golden Treasure’).  Whenever we’re feeling a bit peckish on the way home, Kam Bo’s always a good place to stop by for late night congee :).  However, we had a number of favourites for the special occasion.

But first, the standard complimentary soup of the day:

It was a bit on the salty side but I guess it’s alway a bit hard to get it perfect when making in big batches.

We had Dad’s favourite entree, 2 quails for 4 people:

Always a great way to start a meal here.  It’s nice and crispy on the outside, and juicy and soft on the inside :).  And I love the capsicum and spring onion mix that has been fried with it.   The next one was one of my favourites, Minced Beef with Four Season Beans:

Just a really good staple to any meal here… love the XO Sauce flavour (I hope that is what it is…) and the crunch of the beans.  I could eat just this with rice and be satisfied :).  The last main we had is also one of my favourites (parents weren’t that fussy that nice so I got some say in the menu!):

What is this you ask?? It is the most amazing chicken ribs in the world!!! The batter is made of salted egg and flour and then deep-fried to make this lovely golden colour…. hence this is called Golden Fried Chicken Ribs… or something like that… lols.  I actually couldn’t find it on the menu but we’ve had it a few times so it wasn’t hard for my parents to just request it again in Canto to the familiar waiter :).  Love the place and will likely be visiting there soonish once I start doing late nights at uni again :).

*Disclaimer: All food ratings are purely based on my own experiences and how I feel about the quality, food and service.

Overall Food Rating (Dining experience): 8/10

Restaurant Ambiance: 8/10

Service: 7/10

Value for money: 8/10

Extra note: Other good dishes to try for entree  are San Chow Bow or pigeon (cooked the same way as the quail).  And like I said, congee of all sorts are good for supper :).

♥ Ames

All photos taken on my Canon G11.

2 thoughts on “Review: Kam Bo

Leave a Reply

