Home » Goals » 101 in 1001 » #27. Unstoppable (2010)

#27. Unstoppable (2010)

Date watched: 6th January 2011 in cinemas with the parentals :)

Rating: 8/10

Thoughts: Dad had been keen to watch it since seeing the trailer and Mum is always interested in stories based on true events and I just wanted to escape the heat soooo… Unstoppable happened :D.  It was the first day it was released in cinemas so Hoyts assigned us to their special Xtremescreen cinema which of course had a massive screen and black, luxurious, comfy leather chairs :D.  With Kettle Chips, Asian beef jerky and GrainWaves, we were all set for our premiere movie experience :D.  

Inspired by Ohio’s unmanned train incident in 2001, the film opens up by giving us some background to the main characters played by Chris Pine and Denzel Washington. Now, I’ve watched enough films with Denzel Washington to know that he has a good track record when it comes to choosing good scripts and movies to be involved in and this was no exception.  The director does really well in drawing out the suspence-filled story… Chris Pine’s character was in an estranged situation with his wife and kid, but when she realised that she might actually lose him, his wife forgets all her past grievances to root for his survival.  I guess I came away realising the fragility of life and how silly it is to let misunderstandings or resentment rule our lives… life is so precious and we should not take our loved ones for granted.  I’m glad I didn’t have a train rushing towards my town for me to realise this.  Glad I watched it but not something I’d go out of my way to watch again I guess.

*Disclaimer: All ratings are purely based on my own personal opinions.

April

Leave a Reply

