Home » Food » In Melbourne » Casual Eats » #48. Caffe Moravia

#48. Caffe Moravia

662 Burke Road,

Camberwell VIC 3124

(03) 9882 0008 ‎

I know I’ve left out #47, but I’ve been keen to post up this one for a while :D.  And I guess these food blog posts will also be peppered with a bit of my own personal life through it…hope no one minds ^^’.

Date visited: 8th January 2011

My long overdue breakfast date with a blog buddy unfortunately turned into something more like a lunch, since my family had some home issues with the hot water that morning and I mistakenly counted street numbers on the other side of the road, only to realise (too late) that they didn’t coincide with the side where this little cafe was located on.  After U-turning, parking (thank God there weren’t that many cars that Saturday!) and apologising profusely to Ms. MoreBlindDates, we went in!

Still new at this taking-photos-for-food-blogging-purposes thing (and probably still a bit snap-shy in shops) so only one photos of the inside of the cafe.

I was looking for a place somewhere halfway between our own homes for easy commuting and Caffe Moravia popped up on GoogleMaps with a few good reviews, so I thought we’d give it a try.  They served breakfast until 2pm (?) so we were good to go :).  After some intense deliberating, we called over a waiter, only to be told we had to get up and place our orders… meh.  It soon became evident that I’m very new to the whole dining out for breakfast thing, as when asked how I wanted my eggs, I confusingly replied, ‘Ummm… sunny side up?’  Thankfully, the guy at the counter was nice enough to give me the options of poached, fried or scrambled and in my flustered state, I said fried (and mentally kicked myself for not going poached when Ms. MoreBlindDates’ dish came).

Caffe Moravia boasts excellent coffee so of course, as a (newbie) food blogger, I had to try one :).

Ms. MoreBlindDates had a skinny latte (?) and I had a cappuccino (aren’t you proud, Ange?).  Loved the coffee art and despite my cautious attitude towards coffee, I have to say I did enjoy mine :).  It was nice and creamy with just enough froth.  A jug of water and plenty of glasses are free to be taken and used by patrons near the ice-cream cabinet.

Food wise, we both had been eyeing the Egg Benedict ($11.50 on their website, but it hasn’t been updated since 2004 and I’m pretty sure it was about $13.50…?) but since I hadn’t eaten at all yet, I decided to leave that for my guest and have the Moravia Special Big Breakfast (~$19.50?).

Egg Benedict

Before I go on, I should just say that this was my first face-to-face meeting with Ms. MoreBlindDates (and one of the most natural first meetings ever I should say!) and when she heard I was giving food blogging a try, she graciously excused herself to use the bathroom when the food came so that I would feel less self-conscious about snapping photos ^^’.  Hence, she told me to make the point that if you do want to use the bathroom, ask the staff for the electronic password needed for entry at the back of the building.

Ms. MoreBlindDates let me try a bit of her Egg Benedict and I thought it was pretty good…? Definitely a fan of Hollandaise sauce :). I’m not sure what else I can say about this…

 

Moravia Special Big Breakfast

 

My choice really was a ‘big breakfast’.  I guess it was the standard kind of breakfast you would expect, with a corn and cheese fritter thrown in the mix.  The bacon was a bit too crispy for my liking but the lightly toasted sourdough bread made up for it.  Mushroom, tomato and spinach all cooked well and juicy :).

Service was quite quick and the staff left us in peace to leisurely chat for over 1 1/2 hours :).  I’d be happy to come back and try other things on the breakfast menu, especially their pancake stake or french toast, pictured on their website, which both looks enticing.  They have a wide variety of cakes and 20 different flavours of gelato made on premise, along with some interesting-sounding mains (e.g. Scallopine Pizzaiola) that I’d be keen to sample at another time, perhaps for dinner?  Maybe with Ms. MoreBlindDates ;).  ‘Twas a lovely brunch, thank you m’dear :).

*Disclaimer: All food ratings are purely based on my own experiences and how I feel about the quality, food and service.

Overall Food Rating (Dining experience): 8/10

Restaurant Ambiance: 8/10

Service: 8/10

Value for money: 7/10

Caffe Moravia

Open 7 Days From 7:00AM to 11:00PM (BYO)

♥ April

One thought on “#48. Caffe Moravia

  1. Pingback: The inevitable hiatus announcement « Sunshine on my mind

Leave a Reply

