Home » News » Prayers for QLD

Prayers for QLD

Just go to Google, type in ‘QLD floods’, press Enter and it does not take more than a few words to realise the magnitude of the disaster that is upon the sunshine state at this present hour.

I was overwhelmed with tears as I watched the news reports on the flash flooding that hit Toowoomba, claiming at last count up to 11 lives. It was heart-breaking to read about the family that had to leave their wheelchair bound grandmother to get to higher ground for their own safety. I can’t imagine the trauma of having your little 4 yo son torn from your arms, taken by the rushing deluge.  Never could I fathom watching my house fill up to the roof with water.

There was a sense of helplessness as I watched the possessions that others have spent their lives chasing and building just get swept away in an instant. It reminded me about how fragile life really is and how we ultimately don’t have control over all that happens in our lifetime.

‘Our thoughts are with you.’ Thoughts aren’t going to be of much help right now. Australians have been very generous would over $8mil donated to flood victims and there have been big contributors from around the world as well. But that will only be put to use in the aftermath.

I’d like to think that if I was in QLD now I’d be out helping with the rescues or providing comfort for those in relief centres…but I’m not there. Right now in this dire situation, all I can do, and the action that all who are ‘prayerful’ should do is: pray. I was searching for someone to acknowledgement this important task in the many media conferences that took place yesterday and finally, a fallen PM had the courage to bring it to light for the Australian people. Prayers are what’s needed.

I was so encouraged this morning by the recommended passage of Scripture in my devo-

The Lord says, “I will rescue those who love me.
I will protect those who trust in my name.
When they call on me, I will answer;
I will be with them in trouble.
I will rescue and honor them.
I will reward them with a long life
and give them my salvation.”

-Psalm 91:14-16 (NLT)

‘(We) always ought to pray and not lose heart.’ -Luke 18:1 (NIV)

Even though it wasn’t written to relate to the floods, Queensland came to my mind this morning.  We need to take heart, keep steadfast in prayer for the victims, for those who’ve lost loved ones or their houses, for those who are out there looking for survivors, for God’s mercy and grace to ‘rain’ down on Queensland.  I believe that nothing is impossible with God and will continue appealing for His intervention.  May the believers in Queensland stay strong in faith that our God is a good God who hears our prayers.

“God can give and God can take. We must be thankful for what we have, be faithful and continue to pray for those families who are left with nothing.” – Ti

♥ April

Leave a Reply

