Home » Food » In Melbourne » Casual Eats » Review: Your Thai + Bonus

Review: Your Thai + Bonus

255 Swanston Street,

Melbourne VIC 3000

(03) 9663 8010 ‎

Date visited: 3rd January 2011

In the company of equally indecisive people, we eventually concluded that Thai food was usually a safe option so we headed into the crowded Your Thai Rice and Noodle Bar during their busy lunch hour.  I’ve come here a few times so their menu wasn’t a surprise to me but as mentioned earlier, making a food choice at these lunch places isn’t my forte (especially since they had photos of all the dishes in the menu as well!).  Anyway, we finally were able to make some decisions.  The friend sitting next door to me ordered Five Spices Chicken Ribs with Rice:

It is actually a Chinese dish (they had a number of Chinese and Vietnamese dishes on the menu) which she said tasted quite authentic, similar to the kind she has had at home before.  I went for the Thai Prawn Salad:

I found it quite refreshing after coming in from Melbourne’s summer heat, thought it was a tad too sweet for my liking.  The other two lunch buddies had standard Chinese dishes which I got a bit snap-shy to take photos of, but I did take a photo of this:

Satay Chicken.  Do. Not. Eat. This.  Incredibly dry and hence difficult to swallow… though, since I hate wasting food, I struggled through three of the four skewers… after drenching them in the satay sauce (which wasn’t bad I guess). Half way through my salad, I got a tad envious of the smoothies others had bought, so I ordered a Jackfruit Smoothie!

‘Twas nice but again, a bit too sweet and others felt the same about their drinks too.  Overall, if I’m ever in a jam with no place in mind to eat at, Your Thai isn’t a bad option.  Prices are reasonable but a hit and miss because of that satay chicken… never again!

*Disclaimer: All food ratings are purely based on my own experiences and how I feel about the quality, food and service.

Overall Food Rating (Dining experience): 6/10

Restaurant Ambiance: 8/10

Service: 7/10

Value for money: 8/10

**BONUS**

Not really that exciting, but when I came home that day, my relos had come to visit and one of my aunties brought us some snack foods she’d recently been introduced to:

Brie Cheese, Fig and Walnut Paste on CrackerThins = divine :).  I’ve always been a fan of cheese and crackers for afternoon tea (and by ‘always’ I mean, probably for the last couple of years, give or take a few) but I haven’t had this combo before and fell in love at first bite :).  Fig and Fennel Paste is equally as good too :).  Enjoy!

♥ April

Leave a Reply

