Home » Food » In Melbourne » Cafes/Cakes/Desserts » Brunetti Birthday

Brunetti Birthday

198-204 Faraday St
Carlton VIC 3053
(03) 9347 2801

http://www.brunetti.com.au/

I know I am behind in a few pending posts, but I have these photos edited and ready to go, so….

Date visited: 9th January 2011

Celebrated the coming of age today (well, yesterday by the time this is posted) and as always I had my camera charged and ready :).  The birthday girl selected to go to her all-time favourite Italian coffee/cake restaurant, Brunetti and I took the opportunity to try some of their macarons!  I walked passed them at least three times and sat down to deliberate before psyching myself up to purchase them!  I’ve only ever had homemade ones but since they seem to be all the craze right now, I couldn’t resist buying a few to see what all the fuss was all about… plus they had such pretty colours ^^:

Colours of the Rainbow - ANhan

I selected one Pistachio and one Passionfruit flavoured macaron and since I was feeling slightly greedy (I did share with the girls though!), I asked the girl behind the counter to recommend one and she suggested the Tiramisu ($2.50 each which is quite standard apparently):

Brunetti Macarons - ANhan

Since I haven’t had much experience with Macarons, my opinions on them aren’t really that descriptive yet but I can say that the Pistachio flavoured one definitely tasted of pistachio, the Passionfruit one definitely did well to recreate the correct tangy flavour however, Tiramisu did NOT taste anything like the Tiramisu taste we knew of (a few others tried it and confirmed my suspicions).  Other than that, the shell cracked somewhat well when splitting into separate tasting pieces and the buttercream in between was a good texture, balancing the taste of the cookies (attempting to sound knowledgeable…and failing).

The birthday girl treated us to a drink and cake.  I had an Iced Mocha:

We all agreed that the ice cream that they added in all the iced-drinks was super creamy and simply divine :).  However, the iced coffee was more like a vanilla shake apparently with too much sugar!  The cream machine(?) wasn’t working when they made up our drinks so they came afterwards in extremely cute and little milk jugs:

We had fun with them:

Cream Tower! - ANhan

The cake was a regular sponge cake and even though I was quite full from that iced mocha and those macarons, I was still able to finish my slice which was saying something about how good it was :).

They have a large selection of cakes, some of which are frozen for preservation, so definitely check if the one you have in mind needs to be thawed and give them a call beforehand so they can prepare it for you (something our birthday girl didn’t realise until it was too late).  I took a few more photos including one of my friends’ awesome frames:

But this was my favourite:

Rose in a Bag - ANhan

Definitely a good place to hang out and chat over a coffee, quite packed over the weekend but staff are a plenty and service is quick :).  Check their website for other stores around Melbourne.  Happy 18th Kitty!

*Disclaimer: All food ratings are purely based on my own experiences and how I feel about the quality, food and service.

Overall Food Rating (Dining experience): 8/10

Restaurant Ambiance: 8/10

Service: 8/10

Value for money: 7/10 (lunch menu and other savoury dishes were a bit pricey…)

♥ April

P.S. As mentioned above, sadly these photos have been tinkered with since I wasn’t used to shooting under tungsten lighting.  Need to get a program to start watermarking though…

3 thoughts on “Brunetti Birthday

  1. The best macarons are firm, moist and chewy. It’s sorta hard to describe but you’ll understand as you get exposed to more. They are difficult to make consistently well with variability occurring across different flavours. Some flavours come out well, others don’t – even if it is made by the same pastry chef… Which is what makes it all the more especial when you bite your way into a winner! =)

    • Since this post, I’ve had half a dozen or so of the sweet delights and think I’m now able to distinguish between a good macaron or a not-so-well made one :). I’ve also since bought a book (actually from Perth!) that shows the whole step-by-step process of making them… here’s me hoping to try perfecting them soon!

Leave a Reply

